Author’s Supervision in Questions and Answers

Author’s Supervision can be provided during the construction, the initial operation of the facility, and as well during the development of project documentation.

It is especially important for historical heritage sites, unique objects, during comprehensive development or if the client has not had previous experience in implementing such objects (for example, if a company has economy-class residential objects in its portfolio and decides to build a Class “A” business centre).

There are 5 ways of conducting Author’s Supervision:

  1. by a general contractor;
  2. by a design company;
  3. by a third-party designer;
  4. by a technical client;
  5. and ... no Author’s Supervision

In the first case, deterioration in the quality of construction is possible due to changes and simplification of design decisions.

Problems arise even in cases when contractors without strict internal control standards get solicited for the construction process: builders may ignore the project completely, and do everything their own way, “because they have already had experience doing it this way”. Or, in the process of preparing the Construction Documentation, the general contractor can implement more economical solutions compared to those previously agreed with the client. As a result, the client pays for a high-class product, but receives only a middle or a low-class product.

If the client follows this path, he needs an additional level of control - this is done either by soliciting third party company for Author’s Supervision, or by organizing it’s own Author’s Supervision team.

The second option suggests, that it is more effective when an engineering and structure designe company leads a project from a concept stage to commissioning, performing Author’s Supervision at all stages of design and construction.

The third option - a third-party Author’s Supervision team, is good for the second level of control if the supervision is carried out by the general contractor. But overall, this is a more costly solution: engineers will have to delve into the project in order to understand and make decisions that had been put into it. This is a rather time-consuming process that will be carried out at the expense of the client.

A technical client can also carry out Author’s Supervision, if he has the sufficient resources.

The absence of design supervision is permissible when concerning typical objects that the client has been specializing in for several years.

1. In what cases, in your experience, Author’s Supervision is required, and who initiates it?

The initiator of design supervision is the Client or the Designer of the working documentation.

Supervision is mandatory if it is expressly required by the legislation, for example, cultural heritage objects, facilities of hazardous industries, etc.

It is also highly desirable, to avoid decision “optimization” by the general contractor at the construction site in favour of lower quality and more budget-oriented solutions if the Client expects to receive a high-quality building that meets the requirements set in the design and working documentations.

On the one hand, it is also in the designer’s best interests to ensure that his solutions are implemented, and, on the other hand, that solutions the implementation of which would entail violations are not applied.
The supervision is also important for the contractor; it may protect the contractor as well as help him shift the responsibility. The design supervision team acts as an expert body that undertakes all responsibility for the completed project.

If violations are commited, the designer may come to a compromise and approve the violations if they do not significantly affect the safety of the building.

2. In what sections of the project you deem supervision necessary?

Solutions that are responsible for the fire safety of the building are the first priority: Architectural solutions in the aspect of fire regulations, Design solutions, Fire safety systems.

Solutions that are connected with the client’s comfort.

All sections are important. In our experience there was no such case when design supervision was provided only for certain sections.

3. What is the optimal interaction model for the parties?

Regular visits of the designer are agreed with the client, additional visits are possible if necessary. A Author’s Supervision log is kept, weekly meetings are held with the client and other project participants.

When realizing unique or especially large-scale projects an on-site office can be deployed at the construction site for daily and ad hoc implementation of the design supervision function. If the construction process is ongoing in a remote region, there is a widely used practice for the design supervision team - to work on a rotational basis for an extended period of time.

What is the model/schedule, the specifics of the site visits by experts;
- the composition and size of an expert group;
- managing their access to the facility;
- list of works executed during design supervision; management of records (DS log, minutes of the meetings, etc.).

Structural Solutions Team: the Chief Project Engineer, the Leading Engineer.

MEP-Systems Team: Chief Project Engineer, Mechanical Systems Engineer, Electrical Systems Engineer.

Architectural solutions Team: Chief Project Architect and a Leading Architect.

Design supervision log - is maintained by the engineering designer, it is reviewed by both the contractor and the client’s technical team.

In terms of intensity and frequency of meetings, it makes sense to adapt to the construction schedule. At some stage there will be more visits to the site regarding structural solutions, at other - regarding MEP-Systems. It is necessary to focus on the construction schedule and optimize the design supervision schedule in accordance with it.

In terms of concealed works, for example tests of MEP Systems, hydraulic tests, etc., it is mandatory to have a design supervision team present in order to undergo a survey and then sign the acts. Otherwise, if the engineers do not see these tests, they will have to take responsibility for what they could not have had observed or verified.

4. How often do experts have to agree on using cheaper materials/engineering equipment, simplification of technological solutions, designs?

Constantly. This issue is usually brought up by the contractor and agreed with the client in order to lower the project’s costs. One needs to be extremely careful and considerate when addressing this issue, as it can affect the quality of the project under construction. It is a very important subject. It is necessary to check alternative replacements and immediately inform the client about the deterioration of indicators. There was one case back in Soviet times, when waterproofing with the replacement of material has been agreed for a maternity hospital. The roof was flat and had a parapet, the replacement waterproofing melted under high temperature, the material filled the drainage pits and water could not drain. As a result, a large amount of water was accumulated in one location, formed the giant pool and spilled directly into the maternity ward. Fortunately, no one was hurt, but a criminal penalty followed for the architect, who, during the design supervision, agreed on a replacement material without giving the matter proper consideration. This is the result of an inconsiderate concession to the contractor, who said that “there is no material left that is listed in the project, however, there is an almost identical one.” Chief Project Architects and Chief Project Engineers have criminal liability, they must not forget about that.

5. In your experience, have there been suspensions of construction at the request of the Author’s Supervision team? Major alterations to correct defects?

In our experience, yes, there have been such a case. During the construction of a shopping mall a contractor used a class of concrete that does not match that listed in the project. This kind of discrepancy is difficult to identify, but it can lead to fatal consequences. Unfortunately, such cases occur because of a desire to save money where it is fraught with risk. At the same time, it is not at all easy to determine the class of concrete at a construction site; one has to conduct tests to do that.

6. How is the scope and the cost of services of a Author’s Supervision company estimated?

By agreement with the Client, an Author’s Supervision team is created, a schedule is prepared depending on the schedule of the works at the construction site, a list of the main types of concealed works is determined, in the examination of which the designer takes part. Based on the number of visits, the number of experts in the team and their schedule, a commercial proposal is prepared.

In conclusion we can also add that in order to have a building, that corresponds to the initial architectural concept, that is constructed with respect to the elaborated permit and construction documentation, with the high quality materials and equipment, it is highly recommended to spend a relevantly tiny amount of resources for Author’s Supervision procedure. This will pay back times in future and saves you from potential risks.

Авторский надзор. Вопросы и ответы

Авторский надзор может вестись как за строительством, за начальной эксплуатацией объекта, так и за разработкой проектной документации.

Особенно важен авторский надзор на объектах исторического наследия, уникальных объектах, при комплексном девелопменте, или если у заказчика еще не было опыта реализации подобных объектов (например, если компания с жилыми объектами эконом-класса в портфолио принимает решение строить офисный центр класса А).

Есть 5 вариантов проведения авторского надзора:

  1. когда его проводит организация генподрядчик;
  2. когда его проводит компания-проектировщик объекта;
  3. сторонний проектировщик;
  4. технический заказчик;
  5. и … отсутствие авторского надзора

В первом случае возможно ухудшение качества строительства за счет изменения, упрощения проектных решений.  

Проблемы возникают еще в тех случаях, когда на стройку привлекаются подрядчики без жестких внутренних нормативов контроля: строители могут вообще не посмотреть в проект, а просто сделать по-своему, «потому что уже так делали». Либо в процессе проектирования стадии «Рабочая документация» генподрядчик может заложить более экономичные решения по сравнению с согласованными ранее с заказчиком. В итоге заказчик оплачивает продукт высокого класса, а на выходе получает продукт среднего класса, или низкого.

Если заказчик идет именно по этому пути, ему нужен дополнительный уровень контроля – это либо привлечение дополнительной компании для авторского надзора, либо организовать собственную службу авторского надзора.

Во втором случае более эффективным будет тот вариант, когда проектировщик ведет проект со стадии концепции и до ввода в эксплуатацию, осуществляя авторский надзор на всех этапах проектирования и строительства.

Третий случай – сторонняя группа авторского надзора хороша для второго уровня контроля, если авторский надзор осуществляется генподрядчиком. Но в целом это более затратный вариант: инженерам придется вникать в проект полностью для того, чтобы понять и принять те решения, которые в него были заложены. Это достаточно трудоемкий процесс, который будет оплачиваться из кармана заказчика.

Техзаказчик также может осуществлять АН, если в его распоряжении есть соответствующие ресурсы.

Отсутствие авторского надзора допустимо, если речь идет о типовых объектах, на которых заказчик специализируется не первый год.

1. В каких случаях, по вашей практике, авторский надзор (далее - АН) обязателен, и кто является инициатором его проведения?

Инициатором авторского надзора выступает Заказчик или Проектировщик рабочей документации.

Проведение авторского надзора обязательно, если это прямо указано в законодательстве, например, объекты культурного наследия, объекты опасного производства и пр. И крайне желательно, если Заказчик ожидает получить качественное здание, соответствующее решениям проектной и рабочей документации, избежать «оптимизации» решений генподрядчиком на стройке в пользу менее качественных и более бюджетных решений.

Проектировщик, с одной стороны, также очень заинтересован в том, чтобы его решения были реализованы, и, с другой стороны, чтобы не были реализованы решения, которые идут с нарушениями.

Подрядчику тоже важен авторский надзор, он таким образом может обезопасить себя и снять с себя ответственность. Группа авторского надзора выступает экспертом, который по итогам берет на себя всю ответственность за реализованный проект.

В случае, если выявлены нарушения, проектировщик может пойти на компромисс, и согласовать нарушения, если они не влияют существенным образом на безопасность здания.

2. По каким разделам проекта считаете необходим авторский надзор?
Решения, которые отвечают за пожарную безопасность здания в первую очередь: Архитектурные решения в аспекте пожарных норм, Конструктивные решения, Противопожарные системы.

Решения, которые отвечают за комфорт Заказчика.

Все разделы важны. В нашем опыте не было такой практики, когда авторский надзор заключается только на некоторые разделы.

3. Какая структура взаимодействия   является оптимальной для сторон?
Регулярные визиты проектировщика согласовываются с заказчиком, возможны дополнительные выезды по необходимости. Ведётся журнал авторского надзора, проводятся еженедельные совещания с заказчиком и другими участниками проекта. При реализации уникальных или особенно крупных проектов на стройке может быть развернут выездной офис для ежедневной и оперативной реализации функции авторского надзора. Если строительство ведется в удаленном регионе, широко известна практика, когда группа авторского надзора выезжает на продолжительное время вахтовым образом.

Доп. вопросы к Вопросу 3: Какова схема/график, специфика посещения специалистами объекта;

  • состав и размер группы специалистов;
  • регулирование их доступа на объект;
  • перечень работ, выполняемый  в ходе авторского надзора, управление Записями(журнал АН, протоколы совещаний, пр.).

С точки зрения конструктива – главный конструктор, ведущий конструктор. По инженерным системам: ГИП, специалист по механическим системам, специалист по электрическим системам. Архитектурные решения – ГАП, ведущий архитектор.

Журнал авторского надзора – ведет проектировщик, его смотрит и подрядчик и технадзор заказчика.

По интенсивности и частоте совещаний имеет смысл подстраиваться под строительный график. На каком-то этапе будет больше выездов по конструктивным решениям, на каком-то этапе – по инженерным системам. Нужно ориентироваться на график строительства и оптимизировать график авторского надзора в соответствии с ним.

В части скрытых работ, испытаний, например в части инженерных систем, например гидравлические испытания – обязательно присутствие группы авторского надзора, чтобы проходить освидетельствование и затем подписывать эти акты. Иначе, если инженеры не видят этих испытаний, им придется брать ответственность за то, чего они не могли наблюдать или проверить.

4. Как часто приходится специалистам согласовывать применение более дешевых материалов / инженерного оборудования, упрощение технологических решений, конструкций?

Постоянно. Этот вопрос инициируется, как правило, подрядчиком и согласовывается заказчиком для экономии бюджета проекта. С этим вопросом нужно быть предельно осторожным и внимательным, так как это может повлиять на качество объекта строительства. Это очень ответственная вещь. Нужно проверять альтернативные замены и сразу говорить заказчику об ухудшении некоторых показателей. Есть случай, который произошел еще в советское время, когда в роддоме была согласована гидроизоляция с заменой материала. Кровля была плоская с парапетом, гидроизоляция замены под действием температуры расплавилась, материал заполнил дренажные приямки, и вода не могла выйти, скопилось большое количество воды, которая пролилась прямо в родильное отделение. К счастью, никто не пострадал, но последовало уголовное наказание для архитектора, который во время авторского надзора согласовал замену, не вникнув в суть дела. Это результат невнимательной уступки подрядчику, который сказал, что «нет на складе именно того материала, который указан в проекте, но есть почти такой-же». У ГИПов и ГАПов есть уголовная ответственность, об этом не должны забывать.

5. Были ли в практике остановки строительства по требованию группы авторского надзора? Крупные переделки по устранению брака?

Да, были случаи и в нашей практике. Например, когда подрядчик использует при строительстве торгового центра класс бетона, который не соответствует проектному. Это такое расхождение с проектом, которое достаточно сложно выявить, но которое может повлечь фатальные последствия. К сожалению, такие случаи происходят по причине желания сэкономить там, где это чревато. При этом не так просто определить класс бетона на стройке, для этого необходимо проводить испытания.

6.Как рассчитывается объем и стоимость услуг компании, проводящей авторский надзор?

По согласованию с Заказчиком, выделяется группа авторского надзора, готовится график в зависимости от графика производства работ на стройплощадке, определяется перечень основных видов скрытых работ, в освидетельствовании которых принимает участие проектировщик. На основании количества выездов, количества специалистов в команде и их графика готовится коммерческое предложение.